Each year, the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support (DCSNS) partners with the Governor’s Office and the Arkansas Municipal League to sponsor the Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Awards.

Nominations for the 2013 Community of the Year will be accepted through September 30, 2013.

Twelve communities throughout the state will receive recognition for their volunteer efforts. A committee of citizens who represent a cross section of the state population will select winning communities. The awards will be presented at the Arkansas Municipal League Winter Conference.

Recipients of the 2012 awards were Benton, Bentonville, Blytheville, Clarksville, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Jonesboro, Maumelle, Mountain Home, Norfork, Van Buren and Warren. Volunteers in these

communities donate thousands of hours yearly toward supporting on-going activities and needs of their fellow citizens.

For a nomination form or more information, visit the DCSNS website: http://www.humanservices.arkansas.gov/dcsns, or contact DeKitra Ross-Larry at DHS Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support, P.O. Box 1437, Slot S-230, Little Rock, AR 72203, or call 501-682-7540.