The GHS Beta Club recently held its initiation of new members for the 2013-2014 school year in the Administration Building Auditorium. With 128 new members being inducted, it was the largest group of inductees for the Greenwood High School Beta Club. The total number of members in the club is now 205 with ninety-four seniors and one- hundred -eleven juniors. To be invited to join the honors/service/leadership club, a student must have maintained at least a 3.25 cumulative GPA from the ninth grade and be willing to work on school and community leadership projects. The theme for this year’s initiation week was "Under the Sea". Themes for each day were based on "Swimming with the Sharks", "Tuna Tuesday" (where new inductees must bring cans of tuna fish for the canned food drive) and "Hawaiian Hump Day Wednesday" . Initiation week allows new members to become acquainted with the members of last year and begin working to toward earning points to attend the State Beta Convention which will be held in Hot Springs in January. Some of the projects for this year’s Beta Club include serving at the Teacher Appreciation Luncheon and the Chamber of Commerce banquet, preparing the community-wide Veterans’ Day Assembly, organizing the Bulldog Football program, helping with the community wide flu clinic and Halloween Trail, special pep rallies, decorating for the Sheriff’s Association Banquet, writing Troop Mail cards, re-scribing old senior sidewalks, running the track concession stand and participating at the State Beta Convention, to be held in Hot Springs and National Beta Convention, to be held in Richmond, Virginia and various teacher appreciation activities.

New members include, Lindsey Allen, Olivia Austin, Nikki Bacon, Charles Bailey, Kassy Ballard, Chris Barnes, Kayla Barrow, Mollie Beck , Brittany Branum, Chais Brown, Lacey Bryant, Brett Calhoun, Gabrielle Carter, Reid Carter, Trenton Cason, Jessica Caple, Tanner Chapple, Conner Ciesla, Peyton Coffman, Tanner Cooper, Darynne Dahlem, Danielle Davis, Abigail Dewater, Michael Dover, Gavin Dundee, Brandon Edwards, Sarah Elkins, Micah Escalante, Ruth Etter, Pierce Evans, Mattison Fancher, Emily Fitting, Jamie Fletcher, Lexi France, Amy Frank, Hope Frost, Jacob George, Amanda Gramlich, Kristi Gray, Christian Griffith, Nicholas Gusdorf Callie Harmon, Hannah Hayden, Gavin Heller, Haleigh Henson, Sydnie Henson, Hannah Hesslen, Haley Hickey, Madison Jewell, Carly Johnson, Crissa Johnson, Samantha Johnson, Will Johnson, Kevin Jones, Evelyn Juarez, Kyler Keddie, Hayden Keith, Jordan Kennedy, Miranda Kirby, Jessica Kolljeski, Bryce Langley, Eli LaSalle, Drake Lee, Abigaile Lejong, Evan Lensing, Danae Lewis, Sonia Loera, Matthew Mahan, Hunter Marquez de la Plata, Arabelle Marvin, Trinity Mattox, Hayla May, Addison McCouley, Chris McDonald, Sarah Beth McLellan, Jacob McOlvin, Avery Melton, Brody Mizell, Abbie Moore, Baylee Moore, Thomas Moore, Mackenzie Millikin, Garrett Napier, Alissa Newberry, Trevor Nixon, Haylee Oliver, Torie Ollar, Jennah Passmore, Haley Palmer, Landon Phillips, Ariel Pinkston, Allison Primm, Jerod Powell, Joshua Rankin, Kayla Reed, Tanner Robbins Cherise Robison, Jordan Robison, Cassidy Rohrer, Caroline Scott, Gen Scurr, Jarrett Sebo, B. J. Shaffer, Carson Sharp, Johnny Shelton, Shelby Shoell, Emma Shortes, Colton Sims, John Sisco, Chandler Sloan, Sam Snodgrass, Cami Spoon, Kristina Striplin, Will Tedford, Shara Thames, Christina Thompson, Analeigh Ulrich, Breanna Vanscoy, Kari Waldermar, Korban Waldemar, Lauren Walker, Macy Webb, Reid Wheeler, Story Whitson, Tent Willson, Ty Wyckoff, Lauren Yeager, Shea Young.