Students attending the Western Arkansas Technical Center at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith have been recognized for superior achievement in a special awards ceremony, which included the announcement of Outstanding WATC Students, Starfish Awards, Director’s Honor Roll and SkillsUSA Gold Star Members.

Outstanding WATC Students

Outstanding WATC Students included students attending classes on the UAFS campus as well as students from the programs offered by WATC in a satellite center located on the Waldron High School campus.

Recipients in our area were:

Fort Smith: Miguel Chavez, Northside High School; Jasmine Joseph, Northside High School; Christ Somphounout, Northside High School; and Jerrica Turner, Northside High School.

Greenwood: Brady Wilkinson, Greenwood High School; and Rachel Wagoner, Mansfield High School.

Lavaca: Joseph Melton, Lavaca High School; and Danielle Sewell, Charleston High School.

Mansfield: Karolyn Manas, Mansfield High School.

To be nominated for outstanding student awards, students must have a minimum of 3.00 cumulative grade point average at UAFS, have completed a minimum of one semester, be currently enrolled in the program for which the award is given, be eligible to walk in their high school graduation for the current year, be in good standing with the WATC program and have demonstrated honesty, integrity and a strong work ethic.

Along with a plaque, outstanding WATC students received a $500 book scholarship to continue their education at UAFS.

WATC Director’s Honor Roll

WATC Director’s Honor Roll Awards were presented to 100 students who exhibited outstanding academic achievement with a cumulative grade point average higher than 3.75 while attending WATC classes.

Recipients in our area were:

Greenwood: Hannah Brownfield, Greenwood High School; Madison Byrd, Hackett High School; Madison Franks, Greenwood High School; Kasey Green, Greenwood High School; Kristen Keene, Greenwood High School; Sierra Meskill, Greenwood High School; Rachel Wagoner, Mansfield High School; Callie Williams, Greenwood High School; and Ryan Willis, Greenwood High School.

Hackett: Stacy Spalding, Hackett High School.

Mansfield: David Chavez, Mansfield High School; Karolyn Manas, Mansfield High School; July Parish, Mansfield High School; and Bailey Walker, Mansfield High School.

SkillsUSA Gold Star Members

SkillsUSA Gold Star Members are students who earned more than 25 participation points throughout the school year. Students collect point by attending SkillsUSA functions and volunteering in the community. These students earned a $300 book scholarship to UAFS.

Recipients in our area were:

Fort Smith: Madeline Burgin, Southside High School; Debbie Robertson, Booneville High School; and Larry Saengchan, Northside High School.

The Western Arkansas Technical Center at UAFS is an area secondary center serving a five-county area. WATC provides area high school juniors and seniors an opportunity to earn college credits in automotive technology, computer graphic technology, criminal justice, early childhood education, electronics technology, engineering, graphic design, health sciences, information technology and welding technology.