The awards ceremony for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing program will be held at 6 p.m. Dec. 10 in the Reynolds Room of the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center on the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith campus, a ceremony highlighted by keynote speaker Nancy Owens.

Owens has been a registered nurse for 29 years and has been the director of patient care at Advance Care Hospital since 2007. She earned her associate degree in nursing from UAFS when it was Westark Community College and has earned a Bachelor of Science and Master of Business from Oklahoma Wesleyan University.

Dr. Carolyn Mosley, dean of the College of Health Sciences, said she is "very excited" for Owens to speak to UAFS nursing students.

"It’s always a pleasure to have our alumni return to speak," she said. "Nancy started here but pursued her goal of a master’s degree. She serves as an example for our graduates that their education is just beginning."

UAFS holds the awards ceremony for students who are completing the nursing program. A total of 31 nursing students will be pinned at the ceremony, a time-honored tradition symbolizing the ascendance from student to nurse.

Awards will be given for valedictorian, salutatorian and Outstanding Clinician in Nursing. A student will also receive the Carolyn McKelvey Moore School Spirit Award.

The event requires tickets for admission, which are available from nursing students. For more information, contact Mosley at 479-788-7840.