Forty-one University of Arkansas - Fort Smith students were the guests of Chancellor Paul B. Beran and First Lady Janice Beran at a dinner on April 23 as recipients of the university’s Academic Excellence Awards which honor top students from throughout the UAFS campus.

Faculty in UAFS academic programs identified qualified students and submitted nominees’ names for the awards, which are designed to recognize students who have exemplified outstanding academic achievement in their programs of study.

Among the recipients of this year’s awards and the programs they represented were:

Greenwood: Shayna Gatzke, Business Administration.

Hackett: Chase Collier, Studio Art.

A separate event, called the NUMAS, is held to recognize students who are involved in student organizations on the UAFS campus. Those awards will be announced at a later date.