East Pointe Elementary School

The East Pointe Quiz Bowl team, composed of seven fourth graders and five third graders, finished second. East Pointe was seeded eighth in the eight-team single elimination bracket after going 1-2 in the three preliminary seeding games, with losses to Scranton and Westwood, and a win over Ozark. The team then knocked out top-seeded Rena (Van Buren) and defeated fourth-seed Pyron (Clarksville) before falling to third-seeded Parkview (Van Buren) by three questions. Team members are 4th graders Jabin Huff, the captain and highest scorer, Katie Rupert, Riley Ortiz, Ben Moy, Kennedy Holland, Mason Chrisman, Trey Merreighn, and third graders Dunn Daniel, Ashlyn Butler, Graecyn Higgins, Adyson Crowe, and Paige Walton. The East Pointe team is coached by Rick Clow

Westwood Elementary School

The Westwood team of twelve fourth graders went into single elimination as the second seed after winning all their preliminary round games against Mountainburg, King (Van Buren), and East Pointe. They defeated seventh seed Ozark before falling to Parkview and Pyron to finish fourth. The team consists of Chaise Hanna, Sara Kalanther, Rhyan Kelley-co-captain, Eden Adams-captain, Jay Wright-co-captain, Daniel Pitts, Russell Rathbun, Cooper Young, Kaylee Dolan, Cameron Torrance, Logan Kapitan, and Shane Irwin. Eden Adams and Cooper Young were the team’s most valuable players. Carrah Efurd coaches the Westwood team.

East Hills Middle School

The East Hills Middle School 6th Grade Quiz Bowl Team finished second at the Western Co-op Tournament held April 24. The team went undefeated in the preliminary matches outscoring teams from Alma, Lamar, and Mountainburg. They were seeded first in the single elimination portion of the tournament. They defeated teams from Lavaca and Clarksville-Kraus before falling to second seed Magazine in the final by 15 points.

Team members are Alydia Brashear, Eli Butler, Allie Dolan, Ryan Duncan, Eli Erwin, Colton Gattis, William Hutchinson, Addison Kalanther, Taylor Koeth, Molly Odell, Violet Rushing, and Hannah Wheatley. The team is coached by Rick Clow. Carrah Efurd is the team’s judge. Tyler Kupillas served as the team’s manager.

Greenwood High School

Greenwood High School placed second in the 6A conference finals of the Arkansas Governor’s Academic Competition "Quiz Bowl 2014" Saturday, April 26, against Benton High School.

The team includes (front, from left): Samantha Briggs, Jackson Mitchell, Eric Huynh, Sarah Logan, Joseph Schneider; (back) Annalise Orban, Eli LaSalle, Hunter Moore, Danielle Bridges, Christian Griffith, Briana Hice, coach Rick Clow, assistant coach Carrah Efurd; and (not pictured) Samia Ismail. Finals were held at the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) in Conway.

AETN is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit aetn.org, or follow the AETN blog at aetn.org/engage. AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).